SubscriptionBanner 5

Friday, 14 January 2011 19:29

Society of Camera Operators Announces Camera Operator of the Year Nominations and Lifetime Achievement Recipients (2)

Written by  Staff
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The Society of Camera Operators (SOC) has announced the nominees for the Camera Operator of the Year competition and the Lifetime Achievement Award recipients.

The awards ceremony – a black tie fundraising event to support the Vision Center at Childrens Hospital Los Angeles - will be held on February 5, 2011 at the Warner Brothers Studio in Burbank, CA.

Nominees for Camera Operator of the Year – Feature Film

HEREAFTER – Steve Campanelli
INCEPTION - Scott Sakamoto
THE FIGHTER - Geoffrey Haley
THE SOCIAL NETWORK – Peter Rosenfeld
THE TOWN - Colin Anderson

Nominees for Camera Operator of the Year - Television:

HOUSE - Tony Gaudioz
BONES - Greg Collier
SONS OF ANARCHY - David Frederick
24 - Guy Skinner

“During the nomination process, our members were amazed at the caliber of work out there this year,” says SOC 1st Vice President Jack Messitt. “It was not easy to narrow down the field. Every nominee represents the very best in the craft of camera operating and it will be extremely difficult to chose a winner.”

The Camera Operator of the Year Award will be voted upon by the SOC active membership and announced the night of the awards show.

The SOC Lifetime Achievement Recipients are:

Camera Operator:
Michael Ferris (Die Hard, Scarface, Spiderman 3, Back to The Future II)

Camera Technician:
Alan Disler – 1st Assistant Camera (Pearl Harbor, Master and Commander, The Patriot, Mars Attacks)

Mobile Camera Platform Operator:
Peter Romano, ASC – Underwater Camera Operator (Inception, Star Trek, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button, Minority Report)

Still Photographer:
David James (Shindler’s List, Saving Private Ryan, Batman Begins, Minority Report)

Technical Achievement:
Arri Alexa Camera System
Ultimate Arm - Gyrostabilized Camera Crane

Historical Shot:
Das Boot - Running in Hallway of Submarine

“The SOC is proud to honor this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award recipients,” says SOC President Dan Kneece. “Their career long achievements are a testament to the creative impact of the entire camera crew and the technical innovators vital to our craft.”

Login to post comments