SubscriptionBanner 5

Thursday, 05 June 2014 20:52

ICG Selects Awardees

Written by  P3 Staff
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The future of a handful of cinematographers looks bright in this rough and tough industry. 

The International Cinematographers Guild (ICG, IATSE Local 600) has named eight honorees and two honorable mentions for its 18th annual Emerging Cinematographer Awards (ECA). The ECA is all about supporting upcoming talent within the Guild and to give promising cinematographers the exposure they need to succeed in the motion picture industry.

The ten short films will be premiered at the Directors Guild of America Theater in Los Angeles on September 28. A New York premiere will follow on October 26 at the School of Visual Arts.

The honorees, selected from almost 90 submissions, are Frank Buono, Camera Operator (1982); Devin Doyle, 2nd AC (Lancaster Stomp); George Feucht, Camera Operator (Une Libération); Sidarth Kantamneni, Camera Operator (Saerto Ena); Kyle Klütz, 1st AC and 2013 ECA honoree (Sequence); David Kruta, Digital Imaging Technician (Wallace); Bartosz Nalazek, Preview System (Making a Scene: Forest Whitaker); and Greta Zozula, Camera Assistant (The Immaculate Reception).

The honorable mentions are Chris Heinrich, 1st AC (Sure Thing) and David Jean Schweitzer, Camera Operator (Good Luck, Mr. Gorski).

The ECA is open to any member of the Guild who is not already classified as Director of Photography. Members are asked to submit films they have photographed with a running time of 30 minutes or less. The ICG is the only organization in the entertainment industry that offers its up-and-coming members the opportunity to be recognized and the chance to further their careers.

The films are selected by a panel of ICG members from across the country.

Steven Poster, ASC, president of the ICG said, “These 10 aspiring Directors of Photography truly represent the future talent in our industry. Each of the films that they helped to create is an example of inspiring and creative cinematography. They also demonstrate a mastery of the new technical skills required by our craft. Our judges had a difficult time choosing the winners from the high number of entries this year. These films without a doubt are extraordinary achievements and deserve the recognition they will receive at this year's Emerging Cinematographer Awards.”” 

Jim Matlosz, who has been chairman of the Guilds ECA committee since 2008, added, “Once again we had a great turn-out for submissions to the ECA. And again our members have proven their talent. It seems as though we always have more great films than we do winners. This means we usually have about 20 top films that all come very close in numbers and votes, culminating with the 10 we choose based solely on judges’ votes.””

Login to post comments