SubscriptionBanner 5

Wednesday, 26 June 2013 00:28

It's a Wrap for the 2013 L.A. Film Festival

Written by  P3 Staff
Rate this item
(0 votes)

IMG 6741 smAfter 11 days of film, food and festivities, the 2013 Los Angeles Film Festival has wrapped yet another successful industry event. Actress Mary Elizabeth Winstead presented the Jury and Audience Awards to filmmakers at an Awards Brunch hosted by CHAYA Downtown. And the closing night screening of The Way, Way Back was attended by many of the cast and crew, including Steve Carell, Toni Collette, Allison Janney, AnnaSophia Robb and Filmmakers Nat Faxon and Jim Rash. 

The two top Jury Awards, the DIRECTV Narrative Award and DIRECTV Documentary Award, each carry an unrestricted $10,000 cash prize funded by DIRECTV for the winning film’s director. The awards were established by the L.A. Film Festival to encourage independent filmmakers to pursue their artistic ambitions. “Every single film in the Festival rocks, and I love that an international film and a local film received kudos today,” said Festival Director Stephanie Allain. “They represent the breadth of our programming and our commitment to supporting unique voices around the world.” 

The DIRECTV Narrative Award went to Filmmaker Janis Nords for Mother, I Love You, which made its U.S. premiere at the L.A. Festival. The DIRECTV IMG 6790Documentary Award went to Director Ryan McGarry for Code Black, which made its world premiere at the Festival. The award for Best Performance in the Narrative Competition went to Actress Geetanjali Thapa for Kamal K.M’s I.D., which made its North American premiere at the Festival. Given to an actor or ensemble, this is the tenth year that the award has been given at the Festival.

The Audience Award for Best Narrative Feature went to Short Term 12 (directed by Destin Daniel Cretton); the Audience Award for Best Documentary Feature went to American Revolutionary: The Evolution of Grace Lee Boggs (directed by Grace Lee); and the Audience Award for Best International Feature went to Wadjda (directed by Haifaa Al Mansour). The L.A. Film Festival also awarded an unrestricted $1,500 cash prize to each short film category. The Honolulu Film Office Award for Best Narrative Short Film went to Walker (directed by Tsai Ming-Liang), while the Honolulu Film Office Award for Best Documentary Short Film went to Stone (directed by Kevin Jerome Everson). Emma De Sweaf and Marc James Roels’ film Oh Willy… won the Honolulu Film Office Award for Best Animated or Experimental Short Film. The Audience Award for Best Short Film went to Grandpa and Me and a Helicopter to Heaven (directed by Åsa Blanck and Johan Palmgren), and the Audience Award for Best Music Video went to Katachi (directed by Kijek/Adamski with music by Shugo Tokumaru).

Login to post comments