SubscriptionBanner 5

Sunday, 02 March 2014 21:31

Gravity Earns Top Honor for Cinematography

Written by  P3 Staff
Rate this item
(0 votes)

The 28th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Awards for Outstanding Achievement was recently held at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland. Cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC; Jeremy Benning, CSC; Jonathan Freeman, ASC and Blake McClure earned top honors in the four competitive categories.  Lubezki won the ASC Award in the feature film competition for Gravity. Benning won the TV movie/miniseries award for Killing Lincoln. Freeman took home top honors in the one-hour episodic television category for "Game of Thrones," and McClure was the recipient of the half-hour episodic series award for "Drunk History.The ASC Award for best feature was presented by Caleb Deschanel, ASC. Lubezki has won the organization’s top prize twice for The Tree of Life (2012) and Children of Men (2007), and was also nominated for Sleepy Hollow (2000). 

The other nominees in the feature film category were Sean Bobbitt, BSC for 12 Years a Slave, Barry Ackroyd, BSC for Captain Phillips, Philippe Le Sourd for the Grandmaster, Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for Inside Llewyn Davis, Phedon Papamichael, ASC for Nebraska, and Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Prisoners.

Debbie Allen presented the Television Movie/Miniseries Award to first-time ASC nominee Benning for National Geographic Channel’s Killing Lincoln.

Also nominated in the Television Movie/Miniseries  category were David Luther for Starz Network’s "The White Queen" (“War at First Hand”), and Ashley Rowe, BSC for Starz Network’s Dancing on the Edge (Episode 1.1).

Actress Niecy Nash presented the Outstanding Achievement Award in the one-hour episodic television category to Freeman for his work on “Valar Dohaeris,” the third season premiere episode of HBO’s "Game of Thrones." 

The other nominees in the one-hour television series category were Steven Bernstein, ASC for Starz Network’s "Magic City" (“The Sins of the Father”), David Franco for HBO’s "Boardwalk Empire" (“Erlkönig”), Pierre Gill, CSC for Showtime’s "The Borgias" (“The Purge”), David Greene, CSC for The CW’s "Beauty and the Beast" (“Tough Love”), Anette Haellmigk for HBO’s "Game of Thrones" (“Kissed by Fire”), Kramer Morgenthau, ASC for Fox’s "Sleepy Hollow" (“Pilot”), and Ousama Rawi, BSC, CSC for NBC’s "Dracula"(“The Blood is the Life”).

ASC 1Cheryl Ladd presented the half-hour episodic television category award to McClure, also a first-time ASC nominee, for the “Detroit” episode of Comedy Central’s "Drunk History"

McClure’s fellow nominees in the half-hour TV category were Peter Levy, ACS, ASC for Showtime’s "House of Lies" (“The Runner Stumbles”), and Matthew J. Lloyd, CSC for Amazon’s "Alpha House" (“Pilot”).

Acclaimed filmmaker John Carpenter presented the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award to Dean Cundey, ASC. Cundey first attracted widespread attention when he teamed with Carpenter on Halloween (1978).  Cundey’s credits include the Back to the Future trilogy, Romancing the Stone, Death Becomes Her, Hook, Apollo 13, Jurassic Park, What Women Want, Garfield, The Holiday, The Spy Next Door, Jack and Jill and Crazy Kind of Love.

The ASC International Award was presented to Eduardo Serra, AFC, ASC by director Edward Zwick. Serra earned his first Academy Award® nomination for Iain Softley’s The Wings of the Dove (1997), which also netted him a BAFTA Award. In 2004, he received Oscar® and BAFTA nominations for Peter Webber’s Girl with the Pearl Earring

ASC Crudo WoodThe Career Achievement in Television Award was presented to Richard Rawlings, Jr., ASC, by John C. Flinn III, ASC and Michael O’Shea, ASC. Rawlings’ first TV series as a director of photography was in 1978 on Charlie’s Angels.

IDA, shot by Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski, won the inaugural ASC Spotlight Award. The organization created this award to recognize outstanding cinematography in features and documentaries typically screened at film festivals, internationally or in limited theatrical release. ASC members submitted entries for consideration which went before a Blue Ribbon panel that chose the nominees. All active members voted on the winner. 

The ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction was given to Beverly Wood, EVP of Technical Services and Client Relations for EFILM, a Deluxe Digital Studios company. The award is presented to an Associate ASC Member who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the society and/or has made a significant contribution to the motion picture industry. In 2012, the organization bestowed the honor to Milt Shefter, owner of Miljoy Ent. Inc., and a motion picture industry consultant on the preservation of moving images, recorded sound and high intrinsic value objects. 

Last year, Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC won the ASC feature award for "Skyfall."

The ASC was chartered in January 1919. There are more than 300 active members of ASC, and 150-plus associate members from sectors of the industry that support the art and craft of filmmaking. Membership and associate membership is by invitation based on contributions that individuals have made to advance the art of visual storytelling.

For additional information about the ASC, visit  


Login to post comments