SubscriptionBanner 5

Tuesday, 01 April 2014 02:48

Game of Thrones and The Secret Life of Walter Mitty Earn Top Honors at LMGA Awards

Written by  P3 Staff
Rate this item
(3 votes)

The Location Managers Guild of America (LMGA) recently announced the winners of its 1st Annual Location Managers Guild of America Awards, presented by the Greater Fort Lauderdale/Broward Office of Film & Entertainment.

The event honored the outstanding and creative contributions of Location Professionals in six categories of film, television and commercials during the black-tie ceremony at the Writers Guild Theater in Beverly Hills. LMGA President Nancy Haecker presided over the ceremony with comedian Jamie Kaler serving as host. 

Two-time Oscar®-winning director, producer and screenwriter Alexander Payne received the prestigious Eva Monley Award, presented to him by Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences President Cheryl Boone Isaacs, for his dedicated understanding of the power of quality locations to enhance a story. Payne is currently filming on location and was unable to attend. 

Two-time Oscar®-winning Director of Photography Haskell Wexler was the recipient of the Humanitarian Award, presented by Billy Crystal. Wexler has been judged as one of the ten most influential cinematographers in movie history by an International Cinematographers Guild survey of its members. His groundbreaking film industry organization 12 On/12 Off supports his humanitarian efforts over two decades of promoting safe and responsible filmmaking for crafts people and technicians. 

The Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Commercial Location Scout Scott Dewees, presented by Jackie Joseph, for his eclectic body of work representing the highest level of professionalism over the course of his illustrious career. 

Sheri Davis, Director of the Inland Empire Film Commission received the Trailblazer Award, presented by Nancy Haecker, for her vision of focusing long-overdue attention to the world of film and TV Location Professionals, who play a vital role in the production industry.

Additional presenters for this years awards included Producer Harry Bring (Criminal Minds, The X-Files), Actress Kate Linder (The Young and the Restless), Actress Shari Belafonte and George David (President, AFCI). 



Outstanding Achievement by a Location Professional - Feature Film

Ilt Jones (Iron Man 3

Outstanding Achievement by a Location Professional - TV Program

Robert Boake (Game of Thrones

Outstanding Achievement by a Location Professional - Commercial

David Doumeng & Charlie Love (Nike) 

Outstanding Location Feature Film

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty 

Outstanding Location Television Program

Game of Thrones 

Outstanding Film Commission 

Albuquerque Film Commission (Breaking Bad & Lone Survivor)


Login to post comments