SubscriptionBanner 5

Sunday, 02 March 2014 05:23

Camera Operator of the Year Winners

Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)

The Society of Camera Operators (SOC)  recently announced the winners of the Camera Operator of the Year Awards in film and television at its 2014 Annual Lifetime Achievement Awards. Peter Taylor (Gravity) Wins Camera Operator of the Year for Feature Film and Don Devine (Mad Men) Wins Camera Operator of the Year for Television. (Both pictured above)

Additional honors were presented to previously announced recipients of the Lifetime Achievement Award, Distinguished Service Award, Historical Shot, Technical Achievement Award and President’s Award during the black-tie event in Herscher Hall at the Skirball Cultural Center. The event took place before an audience of 500, including SOC and International Cinematographer Guild (ICG) members, industry executives and press. SOC Vice President and Awards Executive Producer David Frederick, SOC, presided over the event with emcee Bruce Carse. All proceeds from the show are donated to the Vision Center at Childeren's Hospital Los Angeles. The honor was accepted by Dr. Thomas Lee, Director of the Retinal Center.

A special In Memoriam tribute to Sarah Jones, the 27-year-old assistant camerawoman killed by a train while filming Midnight Rider on February 20,was included in the evening’s events. David Frederick, former SOC President Dan Kneece and SOC Vice President Mark August presented an honorary associate membership certificate to Jones’ parents, Richard and Elizabeth, to a standing ovation.

Lifetime Achievement Award recipients included Chris Haarhoff, SOC, Camera Operator, presented by Colin Anderson; Bill Coe, Camera Technician, presented by Steve Campanelli; Barry Wetcher, SMPSP, Still Photographer, presented by Will Gluck; Jack Carpenter, Mobile Camera Platform Operator, presented by Duncan Henderson. The Distinguished Service Award was awarded to the Founder of Filmtools, Inc., StanMcClain, SOC, presented by Michael Frediani. Leonard Chapman, Founder of Chapman-Leonard Studio Equipment, received the President’s Award, presented by SOC President Chris Tufty. Accepting the Technical Achievement Awards were President Tom Hallman, on behalf of Pictorvision, presented by Stan McClain, and Dave Grober, Founder and President, on behalf of Motion Picture Marine, presented by David Emmerichs. The honor for Historical Shot went to J. Michael Muro for his zip line shot in The Mighty Quinn,presented by Jerry Holway.

Guests included ICG President Steven Poster, ICG National Executive Director Bruce Doering, SOC President Chris Tufty, President of Local 871 Michele Tedlis Sorbo and President of Local 80 Russell Nordstedt. Richard Crudo, President of American Society of Cinematographers, presented the Camera Operator of the Year Awards.


Login to post comments